Monday, September 2, 2013

2013 Hugo Awards Nominees and Winners

 Here are the Nominees and Winners of the 2013 Hugo Awards

 Best Novel

Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas, John Scalzi (Tor) Winner!
Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) 
2312, Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit) 
Throne of the Crescent Moon, Saladin Ahmed (DAW) 
 Blackout, Mira Grant (Orbit)

Best Novella

The Emperor’s Soul, Brandon Sanderson (Tachyon Publications) Winner!
After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall, Nancy Kress (Tachyon Publications)
“The Stars Do Not Lie”, Jay Lake (Asimov’s, Oct-Nov 2012
On a Red Station, Drifting, Aliette de Bodard (Immersion Press) 
San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats, Mira Grant (Orbit)

Best Novelette

“The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi”, Pat Cadigan (Edge of Infinity, Solaris)Winner!
“In Sea-Salt Tears”, Seanan McGuire (Self-published)
“Fade To White”, Catherynne M. Valente (Clarkesworld, August 2012)
“Rat-Catcher”, Seanan McGuire (A Fantasy Medley 2, Subterranean)
“The Boy Who Cast No Shadow”, Thomas Olde Heuvelt (Postscripts: Unfit For Eden, PS Publications)

Best Short Story

“Mono no Aware”, Ken Liu (The Future is Japanese, VIZ Media LLC)Winner!
“Immersion”, Aliette de Bodard (Clarkesworld, June 2012)
“Mantis Wives”, Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, August 2012)

Note: Category had only 3 nominees due to the minimum 5% requirement of Section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work

Writing Excuses Season Seven, Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler and Jordan Sanderson Winner!
Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them, Edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Sigrid Ellis (Mad Norwegian Press) 
Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who, Edited by Deborah Stanish & L.M. Myles (Mad Norwegian Press) 
The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, Edited by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press) 
I Have an Idea for a Book … The Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg, Compiled by Martin H. Greenberg, edited by John Helfers (The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box) 

Best Graphic Story 

Saga, Volume One, written by Brian K. Vaughn, illustrated by Fiona Staples (Image Comics) Winner!
Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks, written by Joe Hill, illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez (IDW) 
Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia, written and illustrated by Howard Tayler, colors by Travis Walton (Hypernode Media) 
Grandville Bête Noire, written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse Comics, Jonathan Cape) 
Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run, written by Paul Cornell, illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton and Goran Sudžuka (Vertigo)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

The Avengers, Screenplay & Directed by Joss Whedon (Marvel Studios, Disney, Paramount) Winner!
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson and Guillermo del Toro, Directed by Peter Jackson (WingNut Films, New Line Cinema, MGM, Warner Bros) 
The Hunger Games, Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins, Directed by Gary Ross (Lionsgate, Color Force) 
Looper, Screenplay and Directed by Rian Johnson (FilmDistrict, EndGame Entertainment) 
The Cabin in the Woods, Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; Directed by Drew Goddard (Mutant Enemy, Lionsgate)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Game of Thrones, “Blackwater”, Written by George R.R. Martin, Directed by Neil Marshall. Created by David Benioff and D.B. Weiss (HBO) Winner!
Doctor Who, “The Angels Take Manhattan”, Written by Steven Moffat, Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales)Fringe, “Letters of Transit”, Written by J.J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsm
an, J.H.Wyman, Jeff Pinkner. Directed by Joe Chappelle (Fox) 
Doctor Who, “Asylum of the Daleks”, Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Nick Hurran (BBC Wales) 
Doctor Who, “The Snowmen”, written by Steven Moffat; directed by Saul Metzstein (BBC Wales) 

Best Editor, Short Form 

Stanley Schmidt Winner!
Sheila Williams
John Joseph Adams
Neil Clarke
Jonathan Strahan

Best Editor, Long Form 

Patrick Nielsen Hayden Winner!
Toni Weisskopf
Sheila Gilbert
Lou Anders
Liz Gorinsky

Best Professional Artist

John Picacio Winner!
Dan dos Santos
Julie Dillon
Chris McGrath
Vincent Chong

Best Semiprozine

Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace and Kate Baker

Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki 
Strange Horizons, edited by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman and Rebecca Cross 
Apex Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore and Michael Damian Thomas 
Beneath Ceaseless Skies, edited by Scott H. Andrews

Best Fanzine

SF Signal, edited by John DeNardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester

The Drink Tank, edited by Chris Garcia and James Bacon 
Journey Planet, edited by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery and Pete Young 
Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer 
Elitist Book Reviews, edited by Steven Diamond

Best Fancast

SF Squeecast, Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, Catherynne M. Valente (Presenters) and David McHone-Chase (Technical Producer Winner!
SF Signal Podcast, Patrick Hester, John DeNardo, and JP Frantz 
StarShipSofa, Tony C. Smith 
The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe 
Galactic Suburbia Podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Presenters) and Andrew Finch (Producer)

Best Fan Writer

Tansy Rayner Roberts Winner!
Steven H Silver
Christopher J. Garcia
Mark Oshiro
James Bacon

Best Fan Artist

Galen Dara Winner!
Brad W. Foster
Spring Schoenhuth
Maurine Starkey
Steve Stiles

The John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Mur Lafferty Winner!
Stina Leicht
Chuck Wendig
Max Gladstone
Zen Cho